
Iglesia de San Juan Bautista (Villa de Arico)
Updated 2 August 2026
The main temple of the municipality and the heart of Villa de Arico, the church of San Juan Bautista traces its origins to a hermitage built at the end of the 16th century by Captain Juan González Gómez. In 1639, it was elevated to a parish, separating from Vilaflor. The current building, with a Latin cross plan featuring a main nave and side chapels, was begun around 1747 by master Juan de Armas and combines the sobriety of Canarian architecture with wooden frameworks and a baroque facade.
It houses the revered Gothic image of Our Lady of Abona, patroness of southern Tenerife and perpetual mayoress of Arico, found according to tradition on the coast in 1722, as well as a notable collection of silverware and imagery from the 17th and 18th centuries. It was declared a Historical-Artistic Monument (now a Site of Cultural Interest) in 1985, by Decree 602/1985, of December 20 (BOC No. 13, January 31, 1986).



