
Iglesia de San Agustín
Updated 2 August 2026
The Church of San Agustín, in La Orotava, was part of the former Augustinian convent of Nuestra Señora de Gracia, founded in the 17th century and built on the original hermitage of San Roque. The construction of the temple took place between 1671 and 1694, initially under the direction of Francisco Bautista Benítez Pereira de Lugo, inspired by the church of Santa Ana de Garachico. It follows a basilica plan with three naves, a transept, and a main chapel, with wooden roofs of Mudejar tradition and a main altarpiece from the early 18th century.
Its main chapel is presided over by the image of Nuestra Señora de Gracia, a work by the Portuguese sculptor Manuel Pereira, which arrived in 1671. After the 19th-century disentailment, the convent was expropriated from the Augustinians and used for military purposes; currently, the complex houses the Casa de la Cultura of the municipality.
Essential information
Have a business in Tenerife?
Get featured in our guide and reach thousands of tourists looking for unique experiences.
Advertise hereBook verified experiences
Find and book activities, tours and excursions with free cancellation through GetYourGuide.
Browse GetYourGuide tours