
Museo Arqueológico del Puerto de la Cruz
Updated 2 August 2026
The Archaeological Museum of Puerto de la Cruz traces its origins back to 1953, when the Institute of Hispanic Studies of the Canary Islands created an initial archaeology room; the current municipal museum opened its doors in 1991. It houses one of the most complete collections of Guanche ceramics on the island, with over 2,600 archaeological records. Its thematic rooms explore the daily life, pottery, magic, and death of the aboriginal people of Tenerife.
In addition to ceramics, it treasures several Guanche mummies, a collection of lithic industry, and personal adornments made from mollusk shells. Among its unique pieces are the anthropomorphic idol Guatimac, found in the Barranco de Herques (Fasnia), and "el joyerito," two limpet shells with small beads. Managed by the City Council, it is located in the La Ranilla neighborhood and safeguards the Luis Diego Cuscoy Documentary Fund.
Essential information
Have a business in Tenerife?
Get featured in our guide and reach thousands of tourists looking for unique experiences.
Advertise hereBook verified experiences
Find and book activities, tours and excursions with free cancellation through GetYourGuide.
Browse GetYourGuide tours