
Iglesia de Nuestra Señora de la Encarnación
Updated 2 August 2026La Victoria de Acentejo
Main monument of La Victoria de AcentejoErected over the second battle of AcentejoOrigin as a votive chapel of the adelantado

The main monument of La Victoria de Acentejo, this parish stands on the site where the second battle of Acentejo (1495) took place. It originated as a votive chapel commissioned by the adelantado Alonso Fernández de Lugo after the victory and was rebuilt in solid construction around 1537. Established as a parish in 1578, it suffered a fire in 1589 and was expanded throughout the 18th century to reach its current state.
It houses one of the most outstanding Mudejar coffered ceilings in the Canary Islands and valuable pieces of sacred art from the 16th to the 18th centuries. It was declared a Site of Cultural Interest, Monument category, by the Government of the Canary Islands in December 1985.
