
Casa de los Capitanes Generales
Updated 2 August 2026
The Casa de los Capitanes Generales, also known as Casa Alvarado-Bracamonte, was built between 1624 and 1631 by order of Diego de Alvarado-Bracamonte, governor and war captain, in the historic center of San Cristobal de La Laguna. It owes its name to the fact that between 1705 and 1723, six Captain Generals of the Canary Islands resided there, which gave it a notable institutional significance. It is one of the best examples of Canarian domestic architecture from the first half of the 17th century, with its red volcanic tuff stonework on the façade and corners, wide tiled eaves, and a central courtyard around which the rooms are organized.
It was declared a Cultural Heritage Site in 1981 and, being municipal property since 1976, today it houses offices of the La Laguna City Council and a municipal exhibition hall.
Essential information
Have a business in Tenerife?
Get featured in our guide and reach thousands of tourists looking for unique experiences.
Advertise hereBook verified experiences
Find and book activities, tours and excursions with free cancellation through GetYourGuide.
Browse GetYourGuide tours