
Iglesia Parroquial de El Salvador
Updated 2 August 2026
The main temple of the municipality and center of religious life in La Matanza, dedicated to El Salvador. Its origins date back to a modest 16th-century hermitage which, separated from the jurisdiction of El Sauzal, was established as an independent parish in 1614-1615. Significantly expanded in the 17th century with side naves, the historic church was destroyed by a fire in June 1936.
After years of construction, the new temple was reopened in 1942, featuring a Greek cross plan with three naves and two towers; the current images of El Salvador and the Virgin of the Rosary are the work of the Barcelona workshop of José Campania (1941), as the originals were lost in the fire. It presides over the town square and is the setting for the patronal festivals of San Salvador in August. It is an essential stop to understand the history and devotion of La Matanza.


