
Ermita de Nuestra Señora del Socorro
Updated 2 August 2026
Located in the neighborhood of El Socorro, on the borders between Tegueste and Tejina, this chapel was one of the major centers of Marian devotion in the region. It gained notable fame as a miraculous sanctuary, rivaling in wealth and veneration with the parish of San Marcos itself. Its worship gained special strength from the 18th century, driven by donations from the great landowners of the area and, in particular, by the patronage of the famous corsair Amaro Rodríguez Felipe, Amaro Pargo, who financed the reconstruction of the temple inaugurated in 1744.
Its festivities, at the end of September in honor of the Virgin of El Socorro, keep this ancient devotion alive and include festive elements shared with nearby Tejina, in a rural setting of orchards and vineyards very characteristic of Tegueste.



